

New Mexico Bioscience Authority (BSA) Board of Directors Regular Meeting October 30, 2021 11:30 am – 1:30 pm

317 Commercial St. NE, Suite 311, Albuquerque, NM*

Meeting Minutes

Present: Richard Larson (Chair), Greg Byrnes, Sheryl Arvizu, Christos Christodolou, Ken Prokuski, David Bushman, Myrriah Tomar, Dale Dekker, Immo Hansen, Jennifer Gifford, Tom Kieft, Suzanne Quillen, Stuart Rose,

Staff Present: Ryan Cangiolosi, Sterling Nichols,

#	Agenda Items	Board Actions
1.	Call to Order and Confirmation of Quorum	The Chair called the meeting to order at 11:30 am. A Quorum was confirmed.
2.	Approval of Minutes: September 18, 2020 BOD Meeting	The Chair Larson called for a motion to approve the minutes September 18, 2020 BOD meeting minutes. Upon a motion by Stuart Rose and a second by David Bushman. The Chair called for a roll call vote. Amendment from 12/11/20 meeting: Mr. Rose raised a point of order that the meeting was noticed as a regular meeting not a special meeting. A Roll call vote of all board members was called with 11 in the affirmative, zero in opposition and two absent. The vote was as follows: Arvizu-Yes, Bushman-Yes, Byrnes-Yes, Christodolou-Yes, Dekker-Yes, Gifford-Absent, Hansen-Yes, Kieft-Absent, Larson-Yes, Prokuski-Yes, Quillen-Yes, Rose-Yes, Tomar-Yes
3.	Announcements and Chair's Report	The Chair's opening statement can be found Here: https://www.nmbioscience.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/NMBSA_2020-10-30-Chair.pdf
4.	Task Force Proposed Bylaw changes	The NMBSA Task Force was formed to review and recommend updates to the bylaws working with legal counsel at the September 11, 2020 meeting of the



		New Mexico Bioscience Authority Board of Directors. The Task force provided a Powerpoint presentation to the board of their analysis and recommendations. The Task Force indicated it was advised by NMBSA counsel. Following the presentation, a motion to delay the vote on the bylaws and to seek an additional legal opinion was made by Myrriah Tomar and seconded by Stuart Rose. The Board discussed the motion, and the motion was later withdrawn by Myrriah Tomar. Discussion of the bylaws continued. After further discussion, a motion to adopt the bylaws as amended by the taskforce was made by Suzanne Quillen and seconded by Dale Dekker. The motion was discussed and the Chair called for a roll call vote. A Roll Call vote of all board members was called and the motion passed with 9 in the affirmative and 4 in opposition. The vote was as follows: Arvizu-Yes, Bushman-Yes, Byrnes-No, Christodolou-Yes, Dekker-Yes, Gifford-Yes, Hansen-Yes, Kieft-Yes, Larson-Yes, Prokuski-No, Quillen-Yes, Rose-No, Tomar-No
10.	Adjourn	Due to time constraints, additional agenda items could not be discussed. The Chair adjourned the meeting

Respectfully submitted by Sterling Nichols